Actualités Peugeot

Peugeot joins forces with Hansen Motorsport in the FIA World Rallycross Championship

  • 04/02/2014
  • Peugeot Sport
Peugeot Sport MotorHansen rallycross
Peugeot joins forces with Hansen Motorsport in the FIA World Rallycross Championship

The popularity and excitement inherent in rallycross has seen the discipline grow tremendously in recent years, and the process has been given a further lift by the creation of the FIA World Rallycross Championship from 2014. All the ingredients were consequently in place for Peugeot to join forces with one of the sport’s leading teams, Hansen Motorsport.


Peugeot’s involvement in motorsport has undoubtedly been one of the broadest ever seen over the decades. The make has claimed titles in the World Rally Championship and Sportscar World Championship, while its ventures into such celebrated competitions as the Dakar, Pikes Peak, Le Mans and Indianapolis have all been crowned with success. Rallycross is another competition in which Peugeot has been active over the years, and the introduction of a new World Rallycross Championship in 2014 will provide the discipline with a tremendous springboard to expand beyond its traditional European boundaries. This in turn will permit a new generation of fans to discover the sport. Peugeot wanted to be a part of this process from the outset and, as a consequence, has joined forces with one of rallycross’s most prominent operators, Hansen Motorsport.

Team Peugeot-Hansen

The official name of the resulting team is Team Peugeot-Hansen and, in association with Peugeot’s longstanding partner Total, it will compete with a 208 T16 silhouette version of the 208. The programme will cover all 12 rounds of the championship which is due to kick off in May.

Swede Kenneth Hansen boasts one of the most successful records in rallycross history, both as a driver and as manager of his own operation. The decision to strike up a partnership with someone who figures among the discipline’s elite was an especially straightforward one given that the series promises to be extremely fierce in light of the field that is taking shape.

2014 FIA World Rallycross Championship – Calendar

 May 4: Montalegre (Portugal)
May 25: Lydden Hill (United Kingdom)
June 14: Hell (Norway)
June 29: Kouvola (Finland)
July 6: Holjes (Sweden)
July 13: Mettet (Belgium)
August 8: Trois-Rivières (Canada)
September 7: Lohéac (France)
September 21: Estering (Germany)
September 28: Franciacorta (Italy)
October 12: Istanbul (Turkey)
November 23: Cordoba/Misiones (Argentina)